Looking Back at the Hikes of 2013

Image

A gloomy but beautiful Puget Sound

Looking back over 2013, I realized I hiked in seven states.  Not bad!  I learned a few things and sustained only one minor injury.  I was pleasantly surprised by my forays into Maryland and Virginia.  There were great views, challenging trails, and pretty hardwood forests.

I acquainted myself much better with the Washington side of the Columbia River Gorge, which I found is every bit the match for the Oregon side.  It’s just different, with less climbing but more views, fewer waterfalls, but fewer people, too.

New Mexico was awesome, and I wish I’d had more time near the Sandia Mountains.  I also wish it hadn’t been over 100 degrees.

Image

Night comes in Napa, California

I did find some hikes in California, but besides the Redwoods, nothing was earth shattering.  Still, I’ll take those mellow walks by Napa every time.   In Texas, I found  good moderate hiking in Eisenhower Park outside San Antonio.  There were multiple trails with views and the curious effect of being next to a military installation.

Even with an off year, Oregon rocks!  I don’t care for the crowds at Multnomah Falls, (Tangential newsflash, the Benson bridge and Larch Mountain Trial are currently closed because of rockfall damage)  but all of the Gorge waterfalls are stunning, and Munra Point was one of the coolest destinations I’d seen there.  Mount Hood amazed me again at McNeil Point.  Scrambling above the hut turned into one of the most adventurous hikes I’d been on in a decade.

It’s cheesy to say this, and I’m not a happy go lucky guy by nature, but I am blessed to have traveled with my family, hiked in seven states, and seen all that I have seen.  May 2014 come close to matching it.  And what about you?

IMG_6963

Happy in the Sandia Mountains, NM

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on January 11, 2014, in General Hiking, Memories, Outdoors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Awesome that you were able to get to 7 states last year to hike! I always enjoy reading about your hikes and look forward to hearing about your adventures in 2014!

  2. Hi Josh, The West coast is an amazing place for natural beauty. Have a wonderful day tomorrow!

  3. Sorry, California is the BEST! Yosemite, Desolation Wilderness, John Muir, Trinity Alps, Big Sur, Lost Coast, Lassen, Sequoia and Kings, Joshua Tree…the list goes on and on!

  1. Pingback: Looking Back at the Hikes of 2013 | klheavrin's Blog

Leave a comment