Off the Beaten Path Waterfall Stash

Above Mccord1

On the hike up, I enjoy geology on parade

 

I just wanted to get out of the city on a hot afternoon. Without meaning to, however, I found a series of tiny cascades in the Columbia River Gorge.  The primary trail I hiked ends in a nice spot, but ever inquisitive, I wanted to see what was around the corner.  I continued up the bedrock of the stream.  There were a couple of herd paths around logs and tiny cliffs, but it was almost as easy to clamber over rocks and logs, or simply hike in the very shallow water.  Every turn offered a new gorgeous scene, with water, rock, greenery, and sky all vying for my attention.

Many of the spots seemed more dramatic due to the volcanic rock over which the water flowed, and on which I trod.  Eventually, I sat on a mossy boulder at one point and simply took it all in, walking down only after I’d enjoyed the quiet canyon for almost an hour. It may seem strange to not mention the name of the trail, but I’d like to keep this a hidden gem.  What about you?  Do you have special places in the wild you would prefer to keep secret?

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on August 22, 2016, in Adventure, General Hiking, Geology, Outdoors, Solo Hiking, waterfall hikes, Waterfalls and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Beautiful & wonderful. You permit me to roam in the wilds with you while my anatomy refuses to permit such adventures/trespasses. Thank-you.

  2. AH, I think I have such places that I have already blabbed about too much. Luckily not too many Americans flock to my Italian spots yet!

    • I wish I could get over there! There are definitely some bucket list places in Italy, and I am sure people are so in awe of the cities and obvious scenic spots that the smaller gems get overlooked, so it all works out okay.

Leave a Reply

