A Two-fer Walk Afternoon

Tal1

These flowers on the flanks of mighty Mount Talbert were one of the highlights of a pair of afternoon walks I took today.  They remind me of avalanche lilies, but it could be another species. There were other lovely flowers too, which surprised me given how wooded the area is. I did not hike very far.  I just wanted to get a good sniff of nature.  Everyone should do that now and again.

Besides Mount Talbert, I also checked out  Minthorn Natural Area, a small wetland area close to home. It was not exactly pristine but I enjoyed seeing mallards and Canada geese with a train of goslings (no Ryans, sorry).  There were also signs of homeless camps, but I chose to ignore them.  The weather actually got nicer after I was done walking, and I thought about hitting a third spot for walking, but my hunger go the best of me. It usually does.  Time to cook.  Happy Sunday.

Minthorn1

Hmm.  Maybe after dinner I could walk along the river….

MInthorn2

Can you spy the little goslings right behind Mama?

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on April 10, 2016, in Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, hiking, Outdoors, Solo Hiking, Uncategorized, Urban Hiking, wetlands and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

