Strolling Around Mount Talbert

After meeting a friend for a yummy lunch at Mehri’s Bakery and Deli the other day, my wife and I went for hike at a small wilderness park near Clackamas.  What started as a brief nature walk turned into a real hike on an overcast day.  We just kept going, creating a nice loop I’d done in reverse before.  One curious note was the white powder we saw at regular intervals on the switchbacks climbing out of the parking area.  I was careful not to let our pup sniff it.  Terrorism!  Anthrax!  Poison!  My mind goes into overdrive with worry on occasion. At the first major junction, a giant X and an arrow showed the powder was simply marking the way for a race or organized walk/run.  Relief ensued, and we enjoyed our paces through a pretty mixed forest.  The so called summit was a tease, with no significant views.

On the way down, we saw a deer but weren’t quick enough to get a decent shot.  One trailside tree seemed to have its own little watering trough.  Ferns grew on tree branches. Crazy foliage.  Light was fading fast as we returned to the trailhead.  I have to admit that I can’t wait for the days to start getting longer.  On this day of giving thanks, however, I am thankful for many things, among them the personal health and opportunity to take a hike with my bride.   I hope my readers also have reason for gratitude.

 

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on November 26, 2015, in Family, Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, hiking, Hiking with dogs, Outdoors, Thanksgiving reflections, Uncategorized, Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. INdeed I do, not the least being living the the Pacific Northwest as do you all. I have not been to this spot! Coutninggs blessings even the day after as I eat reheated feast offerings…)

  2. Sorry–hard to type while eating…:(

Leave a Reply

