A Haven for Vines

Amazingly, after decades in the Portland area, I can still find new parks and trails.  Not that I’ve hiked everything, but at least I know about most of the trails in the metro area.  Not so in the case of River View Natural Area, located on Highway 43 south of the Sellwood Bridge.  It’s a small oasis of green nestled into the hillside above the highway and below upscale neighborhoods.  I saw the park sign recently and wondered about it. So it was that I decided to take stroll there with Jackie Chan.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Parking is on the skinny side beside the highway.  The hillside looked relatively open, with no dense groundcover. There were numerous deciduous trees on the hillsides across which the rudimentary trails navigated.  The trees showed off a touch of fall color.  Interestingly, the majority of them close to the highway had vines stick to their trunks or draped from branches.  I could also see where people had hacked at the vines to kill them, presumably in the hopes that the vines would not kill their host trees. The trail was bit muddy in spots, and there were few signs of other hiker or joggers.  In fact, I saw nobody else as my pup and I completed a pleasant loop and returned to the car.  And now I know about the River View Natural Area.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on November 14, 2015, in Flora and Fauna, hiking, Hiking with dogs, Outdoors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

