Pacific Crest Trail Tease

DSCN0097

I have intermittently dreamed about hiking the Pacific Crest Trail since I read Eric Ryback’s book about the trail when I was in high school.  Naturally, life has taken random twists and turns, I’ve done a lot other cool things, from climbing cliffs and bungee jumping to getting married on a mountain to becoming a firefighter and publishing my writing.  At my age, I’m not sure I can press pause on my life for five months it would require.  Perhaps one day…  Here is a tease I stumbled on today in which a hiker took a second-long video every day on the journey, which is compressed to a three-minute video.  I’ve seen another version of this, where a man took a selfie every mile on the trail.  It was interesting to see his face change, but I wanted to see the scenery more.  This clip does that. Enjoy–especially those of you about to embark on the trail.  If you can’t follow my link (and sorry about the ad), here’s the full URL:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=styiDn7YKhE

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on July 21, 2015, in Bucket List, Grand Adventures, Thru hiking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Little segments of the PCT, and it can be done.

  2. That’s a pretty cool vid. I’m reading a book about the PCT right now and thought it was pretty interesting to see what the trail actually looks like.

    Great post.

Leave a Reply

