Urban Hiking: Three Creeks Natural Area

Urban hiking can be defined many ways.  When I head to a spot  for a hike inside the metro area, I know I may see a bit more trash, graffiti, and uses of nature I might find strange. Yet such experience and observations are also invigorating. Wandering around the Three Creeks trails, I found hidden camps, graffiti walls, bridges to former industrial wastelands, and more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Because the Three Creeks area is less official than Mount Talbert or Powell Butte, there is less protection of the area, but I saw many new plantings, as a group works tirelessly to reclaim the area from the industrial past that reportedly included a dry cleaner dumping its chemicals in the bottomland here.  I am glad people pay a bit more attention to nature now.  Three Creeks is a great place to  see it. I will continue to seek unique hiking destinations near Portland.  Suggestions, anyone?

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on May 30, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nothing YOU probably haven’t already seen but if you love birds, have you been to Steigerwald National Wildlife Preserve yet? Marshlands are lovely, and by Columbia slough. A fave of mine.

Leave a Reply

