Returning to Eagle Creek

After working 18 days straight thanks to pressures associated with the upcoming  holiday, I finally got a day off today.  I helped my broken-footed wife get set for the day in her arts shop, then took my faithful canine pal, Jackie Chan, to the Columbia Gorge for a stroll in the forest.  It was chilly and cloudy, so I decided the famed Eagle Creek trail wouldn’t be too overcrowded.  Normally I avoid popular trails, but there’s a reason this trail is so well known in in the area.  It’s easy, and it’s beautiful.  The round trip to High Bridge is a casual afternoon at 6.5 miles.  There were plenty of people on the trail, but it never felt crowded.  I hadn’t been here in a couple decades, and I was pleasantly surprised to find new spectacular features unfolding the entire way. By the time Jackie and I returned to the trailhead, I knew I would not wait two decades for another hike up Eagle Creek.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on December 16, 2014, in General Hiking, Hiking with dogs, waterfall hikes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love Eagle Creek! Thanks for the pictures!

Leave a Reply

