Baby, It’s Cold Outside: Hiking Mount Talbert

The sky was blue and cold this morning.  I wanted to hike but wasn’t quite motivated enough to gear up for more extreme conditions found on Mount Hood area or the Columbia Gorge.  I’m not in winter mode yet, despite this week’s recent cold snap in Portland.  A casual walk at nearby Mount Talbert seemed like a worthy and safe option.  I had been there months earlier when shorts and t-shirt sufficed.  Not today.

I accessed Mount Talbert’s trail system from the north, off Sunnyside Road, rather than the Mather Road trailhead.  Originally, that location was supposed to be the main trailhead, but plans changed.  There are five parking spots across from a gravel path descending to a creek where a sturdy steel bridge lets people cross.

Sections of the Park Loop, West Ridge, and Summit trails made for a nice hour of walking through various forest types.  As I finished up in the sun, I realized that the Gorge might have been warm enough, although ice has been an issue in recent days.  There is a twinge of regret that I didn’t go for a bigger adventure, but then I move on.  Time to gear up so I don’t hesitate to get out in burlier conditions again.  Happy hiking.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on November 16, 2014, in Cold weather hiking, Flora and Fauna, General Hiking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It may have been a short hike but at least you did get out. We had cold snowy weather all weekend here in the Denver area and I didn’t get out at all! It looks like it was still a nice hike.

Leave a Reply

