Feeling Lucky

Wide open spaces call my name.

Wide open spaces call my name, and I respond… 

Sometimes, the daily grind can get almost anyone down. However, when I slow down and take a look around, I do feel lucky.  I have more responsibilities now, and my adventures are usually on a smaller scale, yet joy always rises from my gut when I find real beauty close to home.  Recently, my wife, pup, and I discovered a park in Clackamas close to neighborhoods with baseball fields, a rose garden, picnic areas, and multiple patches of nature to cherish.  It was a pleasant surprise, and a nice spot to stroll in the late afternoon. We just need to get out and find those places.

Another pretty Oregon creek, and so close to home, too!

Another pretty Oregon creek, and so close to home, too!

.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on October 3, 2014, in Flora and Fauna, Urban Hiking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Daily grind is tough and exhausting. I come home and look out as the sunsets over the Rockies and life is good.

  2. The more realistically attainable smaller adventures, like finding a local park, usually provide better experiences anyway.

    • True. Easier planning and logistics on shorter trips create less stress so we can enjoy ourselves rather than worrying if everything will work out or if we forgot anything. But I still dream of big adventures! Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

