Three Views From Hoyt Arboretum

A couple days ago I walked part of what is known as the 4T Trail.  The name refers to  four modes of transportation by which travelers can experience a loop around the city: trail, tram, trolley, and train. 

Looking back to where I started.  The bump with radio tower is Council Crest.

Looking back to where I started. The bump with radio tower is Council Crest.

I started at a high point in Council Crest Park, and walked on a trail to the Hoyt Arboretum, where the famed Wildwood Trail begins.  It is also right next to the train leaving the Oregon Zoo, where one could continue a loop to downtown Portland. I simply wanted to walk, not ride around Portland by mechanized transport.  That might be nice on a another day. 

Walking up a sunny slope on the Maple Trail

Walking up a sunny slope on the Maple Trail

Once I arrived at the Arboretum, I tacked on a  loop through on the Wildwood and Maple trails. The diversity of tree species are amazing, and views are great too.

I found irony in the extensive graffiti on a fence separating the Arboretum and an upscale neighborhood

I found irony in the extensive graffiti on a fence separating the lovely Arboretum and an upscale neighborhood. 

The trail is relatively easy, but I found myself dripping with sweat by the time I finished my uphill return to Council Crest.  It was a well spent two hours of urban hiking, complete with a graffiti, oriental cherry trees, and a freeway crossing.  Not too shabby.

 

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on August 19, 2014, in Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, Outdoors, Urban Hiking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

