Gorgeous Day in the Columbia Gorge

It had been a while since I’d had a real hike, so today I went out the Columbia River Gorge with Jackie Chan.  We started on the crowded parking lot below Wahkeena Falls.  This time we continued past the falls, and soon found a great viewpoint. Continuing uphill, the trail follows a rushing, noisy creek, and eventually passes Fairy Falls on a tributary.  There were plenty of hikers on the trail for a Friday.   Many paused at various cascades and whitewater splashes, and I kept passing them. I continued up into a pretty forest.

The trail flattened out near  a junction where I could have headed west to Angel’s Rest.  I headed the other way toward  the Vista Point trail, where a group of people gathered at the junction.  Just beyond the intersection was the uphill trail to Devil’s Rest.  I debated the climb, but since I knew it was not an earth shattering summit, I opted to descend.  The Vista Point Trail felt steeper, with fewer switchbacks than the Wahkeena Trail.  A quick descent brought me back to Fairy Falls and the gorgeous creek on the Wahkeena Trail, where I started bumping into people regularly.   Many of them commented on how cute my dog is.  Many said nothing to me even though I tried to make eye contact.  That rarely happens  on wilderness trails.  Near the spot where the trail becomes paved again, a side trail leads to Monument Point.  I found it is more of a bushwhack with loose scree, limited tread, and various obstacles.  Of course, that makes the hiking more fun, but I wouldn’t take my mom on it.  The views we discovered at the point were worth the challenge.  It was a great way to wrap up a good hike.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on May 30, 2014, in Adventure, Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, Hiking with dogs, Outdoors, Waterfalls and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Looks like it was a beautiful day for a hike! Great pictures!

  2. Great hike! Enjoyed your images and descriptions. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Reblogged this on Mighty Max Sport and commented:
    This is right up here in my neck of the woods….we are so lucky to live here! Thank to Hiking Northwest for sharing this with us.

Leave a Reply

