Powell Butte-ification

It was a good day for a hybrid hike. That meant part paved bike trail, part pretty woods walk, part glorious meadow, part trail detour along a road.  Confused?  That’s okay.  The main trail head at Powell Butte remains closed due to construction of a new underground reservoir.  Yes, you read that right.  After all, the city of Portland recently drained a reservoir because a man urinated in it, although scientists admitted that even if the guy had peed toxins, the parts per million would be so low as to pose no danger to the public.

I started my walkabout on an open grassy part of the paved Springwater Corridor trail, about seven miles east from where I walked a week ago.  I climbed the Hawthorn Trail’s looping curves meant for descending mountain bikes.  I saw no mountain bikes until I emerged on top, once the trail emerged from the forest to a spectacular meadow.  There I had to decide how to return.  I could head via trails I’d already hikes, but I wanted to try something new.  To the east, there were detours due to the construction, but I thought there might be a way to loop back to the Springwater Corridor.  I found lots of fencing instead.  I followed the mouse maze detour all the way down to Powell Boulevard and walked by apartment complexes and mini malls for some real urban hiking.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on May 17, 2014, in Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, Navigation, Outdoors, Photography, Urban Hiking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

