Tryon Creek State Park Revisited

Tryon Creek in person

Tryon Creek in person

Once upon a time, when the earth was young and my hair was all brown, I grew familiar with the trails of Tryon Creek State Park, wedged between Southwest Portland and Lake Oswego.  I hadn’t revisited the park for years, but chance chose this past Sunday for a visit, which coincided with the park’s Trillium Festival.  Certainly, the flowers were out in force. As of 2013, there were 44 recognized species of trillium.

The famed flowers, lovely in all their colors

The famed flowers, lovely in all their colors

Here’s two fun facts: the White Trillium is the official flower of the Ontario, while the Large White Trillium is the official wildflower of Ohio.  But enough about learning.

Swampy area on Iron Mountain Trail

Swampy area on Iron Mountain Trail

My walk was uneventful but pleasant.  I saw the spot where I’d walked almost a mile in the dark many moons ago.  This time was simply a nice afternoon hike between the Iron Mountain Trail, Cedar Trail, and Old Main Trail, completing the link with the bike path along Terwilliger Boulevard.   I found serious ant activity, a lot of mud, and some very cool stumps.

Strange tree--it grew on the stump of another

Strange tree–it grew on the stump of another

I found the area muddier than I expected, so completing my loop on the paved path was a good call.  It also made for an easy downhill cruise to the car.  Tryon Creek State Park is free, it’s convenient, and all the best trilliums hang out there.  It’s a great place for hikers and flower lovers to spend an hour or three.

 

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on April 8, 2014, in Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, Memories, Outdoors, Solo Hiking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can smell spring in these photos 🙂 Loving your green!

Leave a Reply

