Forest, Fog, Dog

A magical, watery web

A magical, watery web

My back was stiff today, so I wanted to stretch my legs after a few hours of writing.  I also wanted to procrastinate.  I didn’t know if the trails would be muddy, or if it would rain on me, but it seemed worth it.

DSCN0794

Dense deciduous woods downhill

Shockingly, I found myself on the Wildwood Trail off Germantown Road.  I linked that with Firelane 10 and the Keyser Trail to make a loop.  At one point the sky seemed sunny, near the high point, where I saw one of the two people I encountered in an hour.  The temperature was almost perfect.

Skyward in triumph I gazed

Skyward in triumph I gazed

As I descended to a low point on the firelane, the fog was almost surreal.  The trail was a little slick in spots, so I had to be careful.  Jackie was good about staying with me, seemingly wondering what the deal was with the fog.  Making the turn and heading back up the firelane, the going got tough, but the hardest part may have been crossing back over the road.  Traffic on Germantown is relatively heavy for a windy road.  Hikers and dogs beware.

All right, this fog is rather strange, Jackie says

All right, this fog is rather strange, Jackie says.

 

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on January 17, 2014, in Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, Hiking with dogs, Outdoors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful hike – love the spider’s web pic

  2. There is something almost magical about walking in thick fog. We rarely have it here, so it’s a treat (for me) when we do, especially on an early morning run.

  3. Great spider web. Hope Jackie learns to love the fog. It’s required when living in the Pacific Northwest. Some call it spooky, I think it’s mystical.

  4. Hi there,
    Nice pics!
    Thanks for liking my post “Featured Plant: Jewel Orchid” on
    uribotanicalgardens.wordpress.com
    Our dog was named Jack, we got him as a puppy in SF and drove back home (east coast) with him, stopped to hike in Zion Nat’l Park, he was a great hiking companion!
    Best,
    Gabrielle

Leave a Reply

