Almost a Riverdance

The last of the Willamette

Near the mouth of the Willamette

Roll on, Willamette!   Doesn’t have quite the same ring as “Roll on, Columbia,” does it?  That’s  okay. I enjoyed a cloudy day walk this afternoon with Jackie Chan near the confluence of the two rivers in Kelley Point Park, feeling their power as I strolled.  There are lovely pockets with tall trees, leaf-covered earth, then glimpses of river and birds, surrounded by occasional industrial honks or roars.  Finally we reached the strand of sand.

Emerging from the trail

Emerging from the trail

Of course, Jackie Chan wanted the same thing he always wants.   He saw me bring the chucker, so I couldn’t just tease him. The sand was deserted, so  I threw the ball for a while, then got him back on leash and walked around more of the park.   The place seemed empty.

Hey, quit exploiting my cuteness and throw the ball!

Hey, quit exploiting my cuteness and throw the ball!

I passed only one other group the whole time I was at the park.  The cool, grey weather surely had something to do with that.  No complaints here.  A visit to Kelley Point makes for a unique walking experience in the Portland area, and I am sure I will return a few times a year.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on December 28, 2013, in Flora and Fauna, Hiking with dogs, Outdoors, Urban Hiking, Waterways and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I frequently walk and don’t see anyone, not that I wouldn’t be happy to, but it is good to have it all to yourself, sometimes!

Leave a Reply

