Solstice walking, chasing a ball, and the light

2013-12-21_15-41-11_591

Light sipping away over the hills like wild horses

On the afternoon of the solstice, I needed to stretch my legs, and so did my pup.  Our neighborhood has some lovely homes and cool little gardens, but it’s really about the bluff and its views.  Nestled below the bluff  is the Dog Bowl, nature’s perfect little dog park.  The area is packed with anise and mint plants in the shrubberies, but there is also a lot of open area to walk and run.  It’s a good spot to get out and chuck a ball.  Never mind the mud.  Jackie Chan raced after a round rubber object thrown repeatedly like a dog possessed.

Now that's focus.  Just throw me the damn ball, Dad!

Now that’s focus. Just throw me the damn ball, Dad!

Seems wacky to me, but you should see the look on his face when I didn’t throw it right away.   The weather was perfect, and the setting sun on the shortest day of the year made for spectacular light.  Along with watching the graceful and powerful way my dog runs, I left with a smile on my face.   Then it was home for a nice shared meal with my neighbors.  Happy Winter, everyone.

Looking toward Jackiie and the neighborhood, bathed in warm light

My shadow looks toward Jackie and the neighborhood, bathed in warm light

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on December 24, 2013, in Flora and Fauna, Hiking with dogs, Outdoors, Urban Hiking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Happy winter! Thanks for sharing your beautiful pictures. What a cute dog!

Leave a Reply

