Pre Winter Winter Walking

“Baby, it’s cold outside.”   Even in Portland.  It’s not subzero here like Prineville or Butte, but it’s pretty cold for Cascadia. Getting motivated to go outside is a bit more challenging.  A few nights ago, I got a flat tire after dark, as the cold hit.   I had the wrong shoes on, my old Converse low tops.  Bad idea.  Inclement weather makes emergency planning that much more crucial.

Jackie in his tweed as the cold begins

Jackie in his tweed as the cold begins

The ground is hard and flecked with white

The ground was hard and flecked with white on Friday

I plan to get out for a walk today.   I’ll be wearing boots and the scarf my almost daughter in law knitted.  Tonight it will be below 20, unusual for Portland, so times a wastin’.  Stay warm, my friends, and keep moving.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on December 8, 2013, in Hiking with dogs, Uncategorized, Urban Hiking, Winter hiking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

