Will The Real Classic Oregon Tree Trunk Please Stand Up?

Normal forest, normal trail.  I'll take it.

Normal forest, normal trail. I’ll take it.

I left the Germantown Road trailhead this afternoon to repeat an old hike I’d done for a quick burn.  Heading south with Jackie Chan almost two miles on the Wildwood Trail, I enjoyed a peaceful walk and focused on the trees beside the trail and the muddy track.  At a fire lane, I passed a bunch of city wheelbarrows chained to a tree and dropped down to Leif Ericson Drive.  There are no views, but the forest has some pretty spots, and I considered the various classic tree trunks typical of the area.

Love the ferns creeping up the trunk

Love the ferns creeping up the trunk

For some strange reason, as I looked at the various trees, I was reminded of the old game show To Tell the Truth wherein three people all pretended to have the same name, and panelists asked them questions to determine who was telling the truth.  At end of a round, the host would unveil the real person.

I live in Mossy Nation

I live in Mossy Nation

The color of cedars always gets me

The color of cedars always gets me

So which one of these could be considered the classic Oregon tree trunk?   I asked the forest, but received no reply.  Strange.   I might have to return to Forest Park or nearby spots for further investigation.  It always feels like a treasure to escape the mundane world of buy and sell, toil and strive, in such a lovely park within the city.

I love me my Doug Firs

I love me my Doug Firs

Jackie Chan says "I'm the only classic Oregon anything around these parts!"  He's a bit biased.

Jackie Chan says “I’m the only classic Oregon anything around these parts!” He’s a bit biased.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on November 18, 2013, in Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, Hiking with dogs, Outdoors, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

