Ridge Trail and Hardesty Trail Loop in Forest Park

I had been on the lower part of the Ridge Trail in Forest Park before, but this time I followed it all the way to its end, where it merges with Firelane Seven.  The sun-dappled woods were lovely, especially up high, where there are no high ridges blocking light.

Jackie Chan likes his hikes in the trees

Jackie Chan likes his hikes in the trees. This is Firelane Seven.

By the time I rested at the top, about forty minutes in, I had worked up some sweat.  For an urban hike, the elevation gain was very respectable.  My descent was via the Hardesty Trail, which for a brief period felt like the wildest trail I’d yet encountered in Forest Park.

The narrow Hardesty Trail

The narrow Hardesty Trail

The path  does a little jog on the Wildwood Trail, then drops down a narrow canyon to rejoin Leif Ericson Drive.  This took over an hour, covering a few pleasant miles.  Not bad.

Almost all of the way back to the bottom, there's this great view of the St. John's Bridge

Almost all of the way back to the bottom, there’s this great view of the St. John’s Bridge.  Wish I’d had a better camera.

Staying off of the Wildwood trail, it is easy to have the forest to yourself in Forest Park.  I saw only a few people, including a guitar player in the woods.  That’s Portland.  And for that, I am grateful.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on September 27, 2013, in Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, Navigation, Outdoors, Solo Hiking, Urban Hiking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am grateful for Portland, too. Love Forest Park–thanks for the post. I always enjoy seeing Jackie Chan!

  2. This was one of my favorite hikes in Portland! I did it woth my dog several times. We liked the trees too, Jackie Chan!

  3. The view of the bridge makes it a great hike regardless of the rest 🙂

Leave a Reply

