Maple Trail and Firelane Loop

Jackie Chan likes finding sunshine in Forest Park

Jackie Chan likes finding sunshine in Forest Park

From Saltzman Road (see earlier post) I found a nice little loop that took about an hour, perfect for just needing to get some quick exercise.  It offered very little traffic except on Leif Erikson Drive.   The Maple Trail was closer than I remembered, and this time I headed south on it.  There was a detour at Firelane Four, so I climbed it, enjoying the more open terrain.

Partway up the firelane

Partway up the firelane

I saw a couple walkers on the Maple Trail, but none on the firelane.  The weather turned out to be perfect.   When I hite Leif Erickson Drive, I was ready for some flatter walking.

Junction of Firelane Four and Leif Erikson Drive

Junction of Firelane Four and Leif Erikson Drive

I am thankful that Forest Park has a nice collection of maps posted at major trail intersections.  The parks bureau doesn’t have to do that.  I suppose it saves on rescue calls!

Climbing...

Climbing…

Big tree.  No, really.

Big tree. No, really.

I headed north on Leif Erikson for quite a while.  Cyclists and joggers passed me.  Once I re-crossed Saltzman Road, the traffic seemed to diminish.   I headed to the far end of the Maple Trail, then cut back on it.

Maple Trail Signage

This sign has seen better days. No bikes, kids.

Very strange and wonderful at once.  A Walkman attached to a tree.

Very strange and wonderful at once. A Walkman attached to a tree.

The walking was all downhill now, and I was cruising without fear of getting run over by a bike.  The listening station (see above) I encountered was a first.   Somebody is keeping those batteries fresh, too!

This seemed like the entrance to a Hobbit house.

This seemed like the entrance to a Hobbit house.

This was another nice hike, nothing earth shattering.  I’m pretty sad that I haven’t had any nice epic trips this year, but it is my own doing.   I am learning a lot about local hiking, and if I know anything, it’s that Portlanders are pretty lucky in that regard.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on August 25, 2013, in Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, Hiking with dogs, Outdoors, Urban Hiking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Nice one! Like the trusty dog companion in your pics. What was on the listening station…?

    • We like to think we have the best dog in the world. I’m just a little biased, perhaps. I forget what was on the tape. Nice, but nothing I’d heard of. It fit the surroundings.

  2. I wonder if that “listening station” was park authorized. Only place I’ve ever seen anything like that was on a “Nature Walk”. Interesting. Isn’t Portland one of those cities that touts lots of green space per citizen?

  3. Looks like a great hike close to home. It is nice to have places to hike close when you don’t have the time to get further away.

  4. What a great trail! Love the single track path.

Leave a Reply

