California Road Trip Tease

Castle Crags at dawn

Castle Crags at dawn

Castle Crags is an amazing area near Mount Shasta, one which should have great appeal to rock climbers.  Why it isn’t more well known, I have no idea.  Gorgeous stuff.   The photos didn’t come out well due to the low light and lens damage due to a drop by a certain klutzy hiker.

Jackie Chan stretching his legs

Jackie Chan stretching his legs and sniffing away….

We wandered for a while between 5:30 and 6 a.m. as I blasted from Portland down to the bay area to meet my wife.  I had driven most of the night, and I needed to stretch my legs.  Good choice.   If you are interested in the area, take the exit for Castle Crags State Park a few miles south of Dunsmuir.

IMG_6915

Stay tuned for more!

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on July 22, 2013, in Adventure, Climbing, General Hiking, Hiking with dogs, Mountains, Outdoors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sorry about the camera damage. I’m afraid to take mine off my neck for just this reason!

  2. The Crags are only partially developed as a climbing area but that still yields a tremendous amount of exceptional climbing. It is not well known because most of the locals have tried to keep things, well, local. It was controversial with many that this book was released:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0988827204/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0988827204&linkCode=as2&tag=himtsh-20

    I am glad you were able to make through the Shasta area, even if it was brief and low light. I hope your trip went well!

    • Thanks. The trip was good. I am sure a guidebook might feel betrayal to those who want it kept secret, but I am sure it can stay a magical place. I hope to return with gear in tow. Thanks for the link.

  3. Sorry about that image showing up so large. I just copied the url from the book’s page on Amazon. Not sure why that happened. You can delete that if you want.

Leave a Reply

