Wildwood Trail Terminus: Newberry Road

I’ve been biting off bits and pieces of the Wildwood Trail for years, and  this year I think I completed all of it but about two miles, scattered here and there.  That’s 30.25 miles of forest beginning across a parking lot from the Zoo.

 The end of the trail

The end of the trail

Pretty amazing stuff for a city park.  It’s one more way Portland resident are lucky in terms of outdoor recreation.  I’ve been considering trying to do a one day hike of the Wildwood, but I’m not sure my knees are up to it.  The trail isn’t particularly difficult, but 30 miles in one day is a lot for most ordinary human beings.  While I ponder the possibilities, here are a few photos from that far end of the trail.

Nice light coming down through the trees

Nice light coming down through the trees

Great mossy trunk

A trunk so mossy it seemed like a sweater for the tree

Jackie Chan on the edge of a powerline cut

Jackie Chan on the edge of a powerline cut

Nurse stump for multiple species

Nurse stump for multiple species

Bug trap set by the Oregon Department of Agriculture

Bug trap set by the Oregon Department of Agriculture

Even on a short hike in what seems like familiar terrain, it is easy to spot new vistas and interesting details that might otherwise go unnoticed.   The Wildwood Trail is always good for a short or long venture.   Stay tuned for a post on the famous Dog Mountain.    Happy hiking.

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on July 16, 2013, in Flora and Fauna, General Hiking, Hiking with dogs, Outdoors, Solo Hiking, Uncategorized, Urban Hiking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh Josh, I do love your blog! I love living in Rome, but hiking in Forest Park was one of my great joys in Portland. One summer my dog, a collie, and I made a point of hiking the Wildwood from on end to the other over the course of a few weekends. All-in-all we did 55 miles in Forest Park that summer. Alas she passed away last year and we are now hiking in Italy. Thanks for the memories!

    • I am glad you like the blog. It’s not quite as adventurous as living in Rome! Forest Park is definitely a treasure. Sorry you lost your collie. I can relate (see a post back in January). Ciao!

  2. Any hike – even a not very exciting one – is better than no hike. And old favorites sometimes fall into that category simply because they’re easily accessible.
    Can I wear the sweater tree? I just can’t get enough of your mossy shots!

Leave a Reply

