Hikers of the world, unite!

Welcome to Hiking Northwest!  I plan to slowly build content about hiking in Oregon and Washington, with occasional ventures further afield.  There is a lot of generic coverage of popular hiking spots and trendy new equipment, but I want to go beyond the obvious.  I will also write about gear and how to use it, from emergency firestarter to ever important boots to treking poles, hydration systems, and more.  I also want to touch on the mistakes I see less experienced hikers make regularly, especially at those popular trails on holiday weekends.

As far as my credentials, I am not only an avid hiker, but I have experience on foot as a U.S. Marine, a wilderness ranger for the U.S. Forest Service, and a volunteer firefighter going out on trail rescues.

At the foot of Barrett Spur

In my element

I have hiked thousands of miles across the West, and I’ve climbed many peaks in Oregon, Washington, Montana, Colorado, New York, and New Hampshire.  If my knees and back hold up, I’d like that list to continue growing.Being in the wilderness with a small pack is normal for  me, and I love to write, but publishing a blog will be a different kind of adventure.  If you have ideas for stories or content you would like to see, please drop me a line.  Thanks, and happy hiking.

Josh

About Josh Baker

"The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” ― John Muir

Posted on June 15, 2012, in General Hiking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good to see you blogging, Josh!

  2. Looking forward to reading more from you!

Leave a Reply

